FROM THE VAULT: Albion Park Gold Cup

TORNADO Tears rolls back into Brisbane this Thursday to begin his G1 Gold Cup defence, looking to deliver Robert Britton a third straight win in the feature.

Adam Dobbin

11 June 2019

TORNADO Tears rolls back into Brisbane this Thursday night to begin his Group 1 Gold Cup defence, looking to deliver trainer Robert Britton a third straight victory in the staying feature.

Winner of the event in 2017 with Fanta Bale and 2018 with Tornado Tears, Robert Britton has declared his four time group 1 winning son of Fernando Bale ready to go for the $75,000 to-the-winner series, an event he won last year in electrifying fashion, recording 41.33.

A week later, the champ defeated his litter brother Rippin’ Sam by eight lengths in the four-dog Group 3 Super Stayers Invitational, recording the flying track record time of 41.20.

In the lead up to Thursday night’s group 1 heats at Albion Park, we take a look back at some of the more memorable Gold Cup finals in recent years, won by some of our most recognised half-milers.


After finishing third in his heat, Tornado Tears stepped out as a piping hot favourite for the final and didn’t disappoint his legion of fans, defeating local star Jalapeno by 4 ½ lengths. Incidentally, Jalapeno’s grand-dam, Miss Brook, won the event back in 2006 before finishing second to Miss Grub in 2007. 


The champ had three Albion Park starts during her illustrious career for three wins. They were in a heat and final of the Group 1 Gold Cup and her stylish Group 1 National Distance triumph. Going into the Gold Cup off her Group 1 Sandown Cup victory, the daughter of David Bale was far too classy in the decider, defeating locals Big Easy Red and the incredible Cyndie’s Magic to land yet another career group 1 success.

2015 – DZEKO

When it came to raw talent, few stayers possessed the ability of Dzeko, winner of the Gold Cup in 2015. Prepared by Angela Jackson, who along with parents Kel and Jackie Greenough, also put the polish on 2011 winner Bobby Boucheau, Dzeko was sent home to Sam Dart for her Brisbane campaign and didn’t disappoint, coming from last on the home turn for a stunning victory when looking a forlorn chance in the run.


After Xylia Allen drew box one for the 2014 Gold Cup final, the Group 1 event was as good as over. A sizzling 41.55 heat winner, the monster 31 ½ kilo bitch made full use of the inside alley in the final, winning by a comfortable three lengths. What a bitch she was!


Trainer Mick Patterson still sits back and marvels about the deeds of his former crack galloper He Knows Uno, winner of the Gold Cup in 2012. Tackling a hot crop of stayers in the finale, including one Miata and Shimaguni, the powerhouse He Knows Uno got into overdrive heading off the top turn, landing a popular victory in a smart 41.78.


1974 – Captain Winter

1975 – Dotie Wilson

1976 – Dotie Wilson

1977 – Mandarin Girl

1978 – Dusty Ginny

1979 – Mockacindy

1980 – Gini’s Choice

1981 – Final Dream

1982 – Picture This

1983 – High Monakii

1984 – Shy Deena

1985 – National Star

1986 – Clover Park

1987 – Shy Nimbus

1988 – Gary’s Hope

1989 – Mary Casey

1990 – Rocket To Tubrid

1991 – Cobbalena

1992 – Elusive Odie

1993 – Pilgrim’s Star

1994 – Trojan Tears

1995 – Miss Cruise

1996 – Boronia Blossom

1998 – Totally Ablaze

1999 – Questions

2000 – Amazing Dancer

2001 – Hotshow Vintage

2002 – Total Denial

2003 – Dooley’s Mist

2004 – Toss O’Reilly

2005 – Last Quoted

2006 – Miss Brook

2007 – Miss Grub

2008 – Chinatown Lad

2009 – Queen Lauryn

2010 – Nellie Noddles

2011 – Bobby Boucheau

2012 – He Knows Uno

2013 – Destini Fireball

2014 – Xylia Allen

2015 – Dzeko

2016 – My Boy Brodie

2017 – Fanta Bale

2018 – Tornado Tears