Inaugural The Phoenix Slot Holders Announced

THE inaugural running of the $1.1m The Phoenix is now a step closer after the eight successful slot holders were announced on Sunday night.

Adam Dobbin

12 September 2021

THE inaugural The TAB Phoenix is now a step closer after the eight successful slot holders were announced on Sunday night.

14 applications were received for a slot in the $1.1m event which is to be staged at The Meadows on Saturday, December 18.

The tender process was overseen by former Victorian Premier Dr. Denis Napthine who led the selection committee that ultimately decided which eight applicants would pay the $75,000 entry fee and book a slot in the $750,000-to-the-winner showpiece.

The eight successful slot holders are the NSW GBOTA, TAB, Dogs WA, Racing Queensland, Ray Borda, Greyhound Racing NSW, Sports Entertainment Network and Sportsbet.  

After the announcement that the NSW GBOTA obtained a slot in the race, general manager Steve Noyce said he was over the moon to be involved in such an innovative event.

“Innovation is the key to the industry moving forward so I congratulate everyone at The Meadows and GRV in the development of The Phoenix,” Noyce said.

“The GBOTA represents the participants in NSW so today is a great day for those participants knowing someone within that base will represent our slot in The Phoenix.

“I’m over the moon and looking forward to the countdown and playing a strong part in the promotion of the race.”

Prior to the announcement of the successful slot holders, Dr. Denis Napthine was full of praise for the quality of applications in 2021.

“So many applicants went outside the square to push their case – the depth of applications across the board was tremendous,” Napthine said.

“What I can say is that moving forward the more applicants can involve the community the better. It’s about delivering positive outcomes for not only The Phoenix but greyhound racing in general.”

2021 The TAB Phoenix Slot Holders

2. TAB
3. Dogs WA
4. Ray Borda
5. Racing Queensland
6. Greyhound Racing NSW
7. Sports Entertainment Network
8. Sportsbet